Honourary Captains

New to the 2018-2019 season, Gryphon Football is introducing an Honourary Captain for each of our home games.

This Honourary Captain is picked from our collection of distinguished Gryphon alumni and is someone who represents all that Gryphon Football is.

The Honourary Captain becomes our VIP for the game and will join our captains on the field with the referee to do the coin toss.

Dave Irwin

Guelph Gryphons vs. Queen’s Gaels - September 22nd, 2018


Having just been inducted to the Guelph Gryphon Athletics Hall of Fame the night before, it only seemed fitting to have Dave as our Honourary Captain for the Homecoming game. Dave wore the Gryphon jersey as a wide receiver from 1990-1993. He earned the titles of OUAA All-Star ‘91, ‘92, and ‘93, CIAU All-Canadian in ‘92 and ‘93, a Yates Cup winner in ‘92, UofG Male Athlete of the Year ‘93, as well as a member of the 1990’s Team of the Decade. His achievements with the Gryphons led him to be a Toronto Argonauts (CFL) draft pick in 1994. It truly was an honour to have him back on the field.

Guelph Gryphons vs. York Lions - September 3rd, 2018

Rob Wesseling

Rob Wesseling.jpg

Rob was a linebacker for 5 years with Gryphon Football before graduating in 1995 and being drafted to the Edmonton Eskimos (CFL) in the 1st round. In his time at Guelph, he was named Rookie of the Year in 1990, UofG Lineman of the Year in ‘92 and ‘93, Wildman Trophy winner in ‘93, and President’s Trophy winner in ‘94 and ‘95. He also collected multiple National and Conference honours, including becoming a Yates Cup champion in 1992. In 2012, he was inducted into the University of Guelph Hall of Fame, and we are thrilled that this year he was able to come back to the Alumni Stadium field and be our Honourary Captain for a game.